AAA Guarantee

God Always Authors or Allows things to happen in our lives.

Once upon a time, I was driving down to the Detroit airport to pick up a friend coming in to town on a fine chilly Saturday morning.  We planned to have had ample time to make it to church and even time for a cup of tea beforehand.  Upon locking the doors  and leaving my car (this is Detroit after all) I then realize how cold it was and went to go back in the car to get a jacket so I could stand outside and wait for my friend.  This is the point of the story when I saw my keys still in the ignition.  “No worries,” said I as I went to the airport security and called for the airport tow truck. My friend found me and after 2 hours, I decided to call AAA for the second time and request a tow with much vigor. Long story short, we stood in the cold waiting for a truck to unlock the car for 4 hours (total). 4 HOURS!!

Now AAA has been a life-line to me in the past, and I shan’t complain about it, but often times we trust a whole lot in services like AAA to save us when anything happens. This AAA guarantee is fallible, as people who created and operate it, are indeed fallible and imperfect.  There is another AAA guarantee that we should trust in and be at peace because of:  God’s AAA.

God Always Authors or Allows.

God ALWAYS AUTHORS or ALLOWS the trials, blessings, and overall circumstances that we go through.

The questions of why God allows suffering, and whether or not God is a wrathful God who smites at random have perplexed humanity for ages, and has unfortunately caused many to not believe in the true living and loving God that created them.  But God always authors or allows events in our lives to transpire.

How do we know what is authored by God rather than just allowed?

For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints. 1 Cor 14:33

In our lives we know that the chaos, confusion, and sinful temptations are not AUTHORED by God.

In some situations, God will allow us to be tempted, molded, sharpened, or refined through mild or fiery trials. Other times, we see that sin will have ‘natural consequences.’ We can find this in Num 14:18:

Jehovah is long-suffering, and of great mercy, forgiving iniquity and transgression, and by no means clearing the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the sons to the third and fourth generation.

Often we can get caught up in having to know the “why’s” of life and concern ourselves with the vast meaning of various happenings in life.  No doubt this is natural, especially with major things in our lives, yet we are not always going to understand everything – just what we NEED do. Inherent in man’s heart is definitely a sense of “a bigger picture” and “some form of a higher power out there,” but we must not be so consumed with finding out the “why” that it prevents us from moving forward with our own lives and pressing on towards the mark for the prize of the upward calling of God in Jesus Christ.

A famous verse, Rom 8:28, says that we should trust that God will take situations and use them for good

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

In my situation in the airport I asked myself, and God, why this happened at that time.  We ended up missing all of church and I couldn’t see how this was working out for good.  (This of course more of a minor trial in the grand scheme of things) I can see now things that I learned from the experience (other than having a spare key in my wallet now), such as how I dealt with stress and the AAA representatives, and how I interacted with my friend who was equally distressed at the situation. Was that part of the reason I was allowed to go through this adventure? Perhaps, perhaps not.  Perhaps something down the road will have been affected by this event. Perhaps I will forget it, and so will anyone else involved.   The point is that we don’t know the “why” every time,  and we don’t have to always know why things happen, just what we can learn from it.

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” – Isa 55:9

The next time, and there will be times, that you find yourself in a “why?” situation, remember that God will not tempt you beyond what you are able to handle, God will never leave your or forsake you, and that God Always Authors or Allows everything that happens to us in this life!

About corbinisme

web developer and superhero

Posted on May 17, 2014, in Christian Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

